Dr Charles Tannock

Member of the European Parliament for London

Ukrainian Order of Merit for Charles Tannock

EPP-ED press - 15 February 2007

On the occasion of the fifteenth anniversary of Independence Jacek Saryusz-Wolski (Poland), Elmar Brok (Germany) and Charles Tannock (United Kingdom) have been awarded the Ukrainian Order for Merit. According to the Presidential Decree signed by Ukrainian Prime Minister Viktor Yuschenko, the three MEPs are honored for their "special contribution to the development of international cooperation, strengthening of Ukraine's international image and the popularization of its historical and modern achievements".

The award ceremony took place today in the European Parliament in Strasbourg. Saryusz-Wolski, Brok and Tannock thanked for this big honor expressed by the Ukrainian government in the name of the Ukrainian people and also fully agreed to the common goal of a fruitful future cooperation aimed at strengthening relations between the EU and Ukraine including the country's closest possible form of European integration.

Saryusz-Wolski, Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee and Member of the EU- Russia Parliamentary Cooperation Committee, Brok, former Chairman and Member of the Committee as well as Tannock, Member of the Committee and Vice Chairman of the EU-Ukraine Parliamentary Cooperation Committee have actively accompanied Ukraine's political development and were active during the Orange Revolution supporting a rerun of the fraudulent second round of the Presidential election. Due to the growing importance of the country and its democratic development, its further integration in the European family of nations remains highly desirable.
Privacy Policy